
July 24th, 2004
01:43 AM
Free $200/iPod
OK, as many of you know, freeipods.com is giving out free ipods for completing a dumb offer and referring 5 friends. A 20 gb ipod goes for a lot on ebay, so if you want to get some pocket cash, just go to the site and complete the requirements and get an iPod. Then sell your iPod and buy w/e you want.
Here's the deal, I still need some referals, so if any of you are thinking of going for the iPod, please refer me!
Everything will be free, you can sign up for AOL and cancel the next week and you will never be charged.
So please, if you want some cash, remember me. Here is the link to refer me:
CLICK HERE
http://www.freeipods.com/default.aspx?referer=7217769
Thanks to all who refer me.
BTW, I heard that this is legit, and there are people getting free iPods.CLICK HERE

July 24th, 2004
03:09 AM
Nothing Special
Status: Offline!
I would if i could, but when i go to put in the "Delivery Info" the page goes blank and I cant get past that... maybe i'll try again later
EDIT: btw, did you notice that it said the 20gb ipod "may be new or refurbished"
EDIT II: well i got through, but I'm not doing it, sorry. I like how the aol offers say "NO CREDIT CARD REQUIRED" and then require a credit card.
___________________

Last edited by HooT1, July 24th, 2004 03:26 AM (Edited 1 times)

July 24th, 2004
05:03 AM
loves kitties and cuddles
Status: Offline!
Originally posted by shiftSEVEN
BTW, I heard that this is legit, and there are people getting free iPods.CLICK HERE
Wow, very mature of you to sneak that link in. As chief advocator of iPods here at TF, I know that these things aren't legit. I don't think they are scams, though. I don't know much about them, but they're somewhere along the lines of 'get INFORMATION on how to get a free iPod' and not 'get a free iPod'.
Like.. they tell you to buy an old iPod whose battery died for around $100. Replace the battery yourself for $50. Total current cost: $150. Resell it on eBay for $250. Profit so far: $100. Rinse and repeat until you raise money for a brand new iPod.
___________________
I've got a girlfriend! WOOT.

July 24th, 2004
05:08 AM
whoa, wtf?
Status: Offline!
I'm with jeff.
___________________
Fomerly known as lasnaranjas. Holler.


July 24th, 2004
05:11 AM
The thing doesnt even work. Ive been trying to get an ipod for sometime now...but I guess I'm going to just end up saving enough cash for one.

July 24th, 2004
10:35 AM
Neverside Newbie
Status: Offline!
It's a pyramid deal (obviously) and did you know that only one in every five people that complete the process successfully will get the ipod?
Here is a break down:
^
^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Note: the 4th, 5th, and 6th lines wrap.
Let's just pretend theat each ^ is one person who signs up and completes the process successfully.
The people in the first 3 rows get what they want but the people on the last get nothing but end up paying for a service that has tons of hidden fees. Sure you get the iPod, if you can get five people to sign up completely.
And yah the diagram above is a representaion according to the fact that every single person signs up for a service and refers 5 friends that will actually complete the process by signing up for the service.
BTW, they buy the iPods in large quantities anyways and claim that the offer is good while supplies last so it's a win win situation for them.
Last edited by Jackal05, July 24th, 2004 10:38 AM (Edited 1 times)

July 24th, 2004
11:13 AM

OK, yes it is a pyramid, but it is legit. There are a couple articles about this website out there, one being by iGN. The reason why they can pull this off is if you think about it, it is actually pretty tough to get 5 people to sign up and complete an offer. They only have to give iPods to people who successfully complete everything, and this is a very small percentage of the people who try. The amount of money they lose giving out iPods, is far outweighed by the referal money they get from AOL and eBay.
Check out these articles about freeipods.com
http://www.engadget.com/entry/1771223899144212/ (the site was down when i last tried it)
And yes it sounds like a scam, and yes they sometimes give out refurbed ipods, but if you think about it, a little bit of you time to sign up for AOL then cancel the next month is definaltly worth the 250 bucks you can get for the iPod.
These people definatly are running a very evil pyramid here, but if you play the game right you can get what you want.
Also, the CLICK HERE link was a typo, I wanted to add that earlier in the post. And how in the hell is that sneaky? Clearly people can see that it says click here, and most people dont go around clicking all over the screen.
Oh yeah, and Jeff, there are numerous threads on numerous forums where people have posted telling that they have recieved their iPods.

July 24th, 2004
12:17 PM
Pants are evil
Status: Offline!
When you get an ipod tell me.
___________________
Cell phone geek.

July 24th, 2004
07:46 PM
England > America
Status: Offline!
its a case of i'll beleive it when i see it!
___________________
Last.fm | Myspace | Flickr | Virbē

July 25th, 2004
02:20 AM
If I get enough referals, I'll take some pics of me and my new iPod =). If you think about it, I'm sure that they are making enough money to pay off the iPods they are giving away.